Shukr from the depths of the darkness.

Sujood ash-shukr.

What’s so special about it? We prostrate multiple times during our day so what is so special about prostrating out of thankfulness? Can we ever *thank* and praise Allah enough anyway?

One of the biggest symptoms I have from this Sihr is that I struggle tremendously to be grateful. And I don’t just mean that I am greedy and that I can’t SEE the blessings that I have but it’s that I can’t FEEL the gratefulness of having these blessings. I am numb to the core. It is literally as if I have had an organ removed from my body. Or from my brain more like. I laugh but it’s hollow. Something has been blocked inside of me. And I know from many of you too. Don’t forget that Shayateen can disrupt hormone levels that help us ‘feel’ emotions. They want to dehumanize us. Until we feel as rotten and emotionless as them.

I was advised to prostrate out of Shukr to Allah when I am at my lowest breaking point-what even if I dont feel anything?-yes even then. Especially then.

Think. What did Iblees promise Allah?
‘Because You have sent me astray, surely, I will sit in wait against them (human beings) on Your straight path. Then I will come to them from before them and behind them, from their right and from their left, and You will not find most of them..grateful’” (Quran, Al-Aaraf: 16,17).

In his pathetic grand scheme of things-Ibless wishes to attack us from every direction-be it posession or no posession-until we become ungrateful creatures, falling towards the Hellfire.

Essentially, the shayateen may have been sent to split you from your spouse, or to kill you or to get you to marry your cousin, but ultimately they want to strip away every good thing from you and drive your mind to the brink of insanity until-

Until you almost cry out ‘where is the help of Allah?’. Until you are ungrateful like Iblis and until you totally reject Allah.

That’s why Sujood ash-Shukr is SO important for the afflicted. To show Shaytan that he can come from the left or the right or from behind but we, as the slave of Allah, we will prostrate to our Lord no matter what happens to us!

Oh and in this sujood…the help of your Lord will come. Do it and see.

Leave a Reply

